The Bear Pride Flag, also known as the International Bear Brotherhood Flag, is a symbol of inclusivity and camaraderie within the bear community—a subset of the gay community that celebrates rugged masculinity and secondary sex characteristics like body and facial hair. Created in 1995 by Craig Byrnes, this flag incorporates colors representing the furs of bears around the world, marking it as a global emblem of bear brotherhood.

Bear pride flag with Dark Brown, Orange/Rust, Golden Yellow, Tan, White, Gray, and Black

Understanding the Bear Flag Colors

The Bear Pride Flag features seven horizontal stripes in the colors of dark brown, orange/rust, golden yellow, tan, white, gray, and black. A bear paw print is positioned in the top left corner. Each color is meant to reflect the fur colors of bears worldwide, an inclusive gesture toward all bear communities.

  • Dark Brown, Orange/Rust, Golden Yellow, Tan, White, Gray, and Black: These colors represent the spectrum of fur colors seen in bear species across the globe. The bear paw print is an immediately recognizable symbol of bear culture.

Dream Maker Pins Bear Flag Offering

bear pride flag wearable enamel pin

Dream Maker Pins offers a Bear Pride Flag Enamel Pin, a vivid representation of the colors and paw print emblem of the Bear Pride Flag.

Further Reading

For more on the history and symbolism of various pride flags, visit our comprehensive guides on the LGBTQ Ally Flag Guide, the LGBTQIA Rainbow Pride Flag Guide, the Transgender Flag Guide, the Genderqueer Flag Guide, the Polysexual Flag Guide, the Bisexual Flag Guide, the Nonbinary Flag Guidethe Lesbian Pride Flag Guide, and the Pansexual Pride Flag Guide.

Leave a comment

Please note: comments must be approved before they are published.